Board of Directors | Staff | Alumni | Community Leadership Award | Annual Report


2016 - 2017 Board of Directors

Bill Brooks ( Alumnus 2003), Linda Clouthier (Secretary and Alumna 2011), Kari Doerksen (Alumna 2016), James Grant (Alumnus 2013), Frank Hounjet (Treasurer), Giselle Howard (Chair and 2008 Alumna), Carm Michalenko (Saskatoon Community Foundation Appointee), Laurie O’Connor (Alumna 2013), Jill Salamon (University of Saskatchewan Appointee), Kent Smith-Windsor (Greater Saskatoon Chamber of Commerce Appointee)

Our Staff

Administrative Director, Jennifer Friedt

Jennifer FriedtJennifer joined the Leadership Saskatoon Team in October 2016 and has over 15 years of Administrative Experience. Jennifer earned her B.Comm. from the University of Saskatchewan and began her career in the Financial Services Industry. She worked in several different roles over that period including, personal, small business and high value banking. In 2011, she and her husband Sheldon started their own business and she has gained valuable leadership experience in being a co-owner and office manager. Jennifer has always loved being a part of a team and donates her time to several organizations including the Diabetes Association, the CIBC Run for the Cure, the Heart and Stroke Foundation and sits as a Board Member for the Saskatoon Aqualenes Synchronized Swimming Club.

Executive Director, Sheri Hillestad Smith

Sheri Hillestad SmithSheri has over twenty years’ experience in the not for profit sector. Most notably serving as the first Coordinator of Volunteer Saskatoon and the Executive Director of the Kidney Foundation of Canada, Saskatchewa Branch is also involved in the corporate sector asBra a partner at Smith Industries, a manufacturing company here in Saskatoon.

Sheri is passionate about her community and the leadership it requires. She enjoys her work as a volunteer with Operation Christmas Child and as a Board member with the Saskatoon Convalescent Home. She feels privileged to work with such a talented group of leaders, facilitators and staff who dedicate their time and energy to the Leadership Saskatoon program.

Program Director, Tracy Stephensen

Tracy StephensenTracy Stephensen has over 15 years experience working as a training/program coordinator in Adult Education. She is a certified practitioner in the Myers Briggs Type Indicator® and recently retired from the University of Saskatchewan where she worked as a program coordinator since 2008 in the area of leadership and professional development. Tracy continues to work part-time as the Program Director for Leadership Saskatoon and as a Program Coordinator for Women in Leadership for Life. In her personal life, Tracy is passionate about wellness and yoga. She is a certified yoga instructor and wellness coach.


Mission and Values

Our mission is to develop effective collaborative leaders by building awareness and understanding which inspires involvement in building an inclusive community.

Four values that distinguish Leadership Saskatoon are:

Our Founders

Leadership Saskatoon was founded by the University of Saskatchewan, the Greater Saskatoon Chamber of Commerce, and the Saskatoon Community Foundation.

We are grateful for their continuing and unwavering support.

Saskatoon Chamber of Commerce
    Saskatoon Community Foundation      University of Saskatchewan  


Our alumni now number over 375 in total. Here are the photos from each class. Click on each year below to see who they are.

Back to top ^^^

Cherry Insurance-Leadership Saskatoon Community Leadership Award

Namarta Kochar - 2017 Recipient

Namarta Kochar Namarta’s participation spans many dimensions of the community – from providing advice to the Saskatoon Environmental Advisory Committee and mentoring through the Saskatchewan Association of Human Resource Professionals to sharing arts, fashions and the culture of India through the India Pavilion at Folkfest. She values the improvement of the quality of life for others in Saskatoon including Dress for Success, Saskatoon Salvation Army, Children's Hospital Foundation, as well as many other organizations.

Namarta is an acknowledged community leader whose achievement and leadership have been recognized as a Woman of Influence from SaskBusiness Magazine, a finalist for the YWCA Women of Distinction Awards, one of CBC Saskatchewan’s Future 40, as well as receiving the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal and the Champion of Children Award from the Saskatoon Preschool Foundation to name a few.

Previous Leadership Award Winners
Zeba Ahmad

Zeba Ahmad
2016 Recipient

Tom Kishchuk

Tom Kischuk
2015 Recipient

Milton Taylor

Milton Taylor
2014 Recipient

Dave Dutchak

Dave Dutchak
2013 Recipient

Kirby Wirchenko

Kirby Wirchenko
2012 Recipient

Om Kochar

Om Kochar
2011 Recipient

Ayten Archer

Ayten Archer
2010 Recipient

Back to top ^^^

Annual Report

It was all good news at our Annual General Meeting.